about the Mass

The Mass is central to our worship and union with Christ. It is the most perfect union we can have with Jesus in this life. Because it is the most perfect union we have with Jesus, it is also the most perfect union we have with each other. As well, it is our most perfect worship of God. There are two main parts to the Mass:
1. The Liturgy of the Word.
2. The Liturgy of the Eucharist.

Liturgy of the Word:
The first part of the Mass, the Liturgy of the Word, is focused on scripture. The Bible is read from the Old Testament, the New Testament, and from the Gospel. After the readings, the priest gives a sermon, helping apply Christ’s teachings to our daily lives.

Liturgy of the Eucharist:
Christ’s act of redemption in His death and resurrection is made present to us during this part of the Mass. The Liturgy of the Eucharist is when we receive the “Blessed Sacrament,” the body, blood, soul, and divinity of Jesus Christ in the form of bread and wine.

John 6:55-56:
“ For my flesh is food indeed, and my blood is drink indeed. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him.”